What are Emotions

Every individual feels emotions even people who are considered to some degree psychopathic. Emotions vary from individual to individual but emotions could be a very positive thing and sometimes seems rather an annoyance. I will show you what emotions mean and how you can re-direct your own emotions into positive outlets that could benefit you in you’r own life.

According to Dictionary.com emotions are “an affective state of consciousness in which joy, sorrow, fear, hate, or the like, is experienced, as distinguished from cognitive and volitional states of consciousness.” Essentially emotions are felt after you had a certain thought about a particular thing. Imagine a situation where you seen a snake and you thought be careful. This would lead to the emotion of fear, in a different scenario you know how to deal with snakes so you think this will be fun. The different form of thinking will make you feel excited and not fearful.

Feelings are their to guide us and tell us wisdom about ourselves. According to The Secret Language of Feelings by Cal Bryan “What are feelings for? Why are they all good? Fortunately, the answer is very simple. All feelings are good, because their purpose is to provide us with information, direction and motivation that will help us create a satisfying life.Our feelings are a product of our internal wisdom, which is attempting to guide us and motivate us to satisfy our needs, wants and desires”. The feelings or emotions we feel are there for a reason, it’s the feelings which tell us where to go next and what we really want.

A good example the author uses is a car and how we need to maintain the vehicle to function properly for us. The methapor is ”

Now to our metaphor. A car has basic needs, such as the need for oil or gas, that must be attended to in order to keep it running in a reliable way. To ensure that these needs are addressed, cars are equipped with indicator lights that go on when there’s an action the driver needs to take.

For example, a car needs oil to function reliably. When the oil gets low, the indicator light on the car’s dashboard alerts the driver, so that she can take the appropriate action of filling the oil reservoir. (Author’s note: I use “she” as the universal pronoun throughout this book, to avoid the awkward “he or she” and the plural “they.”)

We’re like the car—we also have needs that must be satisfied in order to function optimally. Our feelings indicate what need is calling for attention, just like the lights and gauges on the dashboard of a car alert us to what the car needs”.

The author points out eleven different feelings and what they mean

  • Bored – When you feel bored, it is a voice inside of you saying, “I need to experience growth and challenge in my life.”
  • Anger – Anger is a voice inside that says, “I think what is going on here is unfair!”
  • Guilty – Anger has a twin sister and her name is Guilt. When you feel guilty it is a voice inside of you saying, “I feel I’ve been unfair to someone.”
  • Sad – Sadness is a voice that says, “I have lost someone or something important to me.”
  • Lonely – When you feel lonely, it’s a voice inside of you saying, “I need to be with someone I care about and who cares about me.”
  • Inadequate – Inadequacy is a voice inside of you saying, “I feel like there’s something wrong with me.”
  • Stress – Stress is the voice inside of you saying, “I feel like I have too much to do.”
  • Fear – Fear is a voice inside of you saying, “I think something bad is going to happen.”
  • Frustrated – Frustration is a voice inside saying, “What I’m doing isn’t working!”
  • Depressed – Depression is a voice inside of you saying ”I quit —it hurts too much to continue to try anymore.”
  • Sympathy – Sympathy can cause you to feel “bad” because someone else is hurting. It can also activate emotions from your past through emotional resonance.

Emotions are complex and rather different for each individual, just ask yourself why you feel the way you feel. The answer will come slowly, but it will make you more aware of yourself. This does take time to examine yourself so it will take time and have patience.

Example for me personally I was frustrated and sad, whatever I was doing was not working and I thought I lost something important to me. I understood what my body was telling me and I took action to heal that emotion.

References

Calvin D. Banyan (2003) The Secret Language Of Feelings. Abbot Publishing House, Inc., Minnesota

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

